Most Anticipated Post E3 2010: FFXIV

That’s right. Among all of the announcements from Sony and Microsoft, and even with Nintendo pulling on my heartstrings, FFXIV ends up being my personal most anticipated game of E3 2010.

I realize there are better games out there, but Square’s new MMO has grabbed my full attention and then some. As one of the original FFXI alum, I’ve been fighting the urge to revisit that game for the past couple of years knowing that it wouldn’t be the same going back. Then when I got wind of FFXIV about a year ago, I resolved to hold out for the new installment.

Looking at the footage for XIV, I think I made the right decision. I know a lot of people love to hate XI, but I am someone who really enjoyed it. And to be honest, I would have probably been happy with a few minor tweaks, new areas and some HD graphics. Fortunately, it looks like Square has done a lot more than that with the new classes, combat, factions, etc., but they’ve kept enough so it’s still very familiar. Essentially, it looks like they’re crafting a worthy successor, and I can’t wait to dive into the world of Eorzea later this year.

If any one else is excited about Final Fantasy XIV, I’d like to hear your thoughts too. Did you play XI? Do you think XIV is headed in the right direction, or is it too similar/dissimilar? Stuff like that. And thanks for checking out my blog.

Edit: Oh, and just in case anyone cares, my second most anticipated title is actually the new Twisted Metal.

Yep, as much as I love to gush about Nintendo (and I did a lot of that last time), my two most anticipated games of this year’s show are actually on the PS3. Here’s hoping they’re both winners.

About Andy DeLozier

https://gamelygamer.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in 1UP.com Archives, Coming Soon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

